Vikings Cinch Wheatland Championship

The Naicam Senior Vikings hoisted the cup on March 13 after winning the best-of-five final series over the Craik Warriors.

Naicam Vikings r

Naicam Senior Vikings, Wheatland Senior Hockey League Champions 2015-16: left to right, back row, Steve Guttormson, Sherlyn Green, Cory Lengyel, Phil Binkley, David Kellington, Braden Messer, Colton LeBlanc, Dave McConnell, Riley Hobbins, Rob Holoein, Brock Crozon, Beau Purves, Chris Beaudry, Scott Woolsey; front, Kegan Sunderland, Brian Farley, Damian Ingram, Ryan Bartle, Justin Nienaber, Jason Hutchison, Nathan McDermid (goal), Bryce Walker, Trevor Woolsey, Nathan Allen, Brandon Sloan, Cody Purves. Missing from photo, Chris MacDonald.

The weekend was intense, with game one in Craik on Friday night ending with a 3-2 overtime win. The deciding goal was scored by Trevor Woolsey.

In game two on Saturday night back on home ice, the Naicam Viking SportsPlex was packed with parents and fans from around the area. The roof exploded as fans cheered a bullet shot by Brian Farley that hit the back of the net in the second overtime period.

In game three on Sunday afternoon, the Vikings took an early lead in the first period with two back-to-back goals scored by Nathan Allen. In the second period Bryce Walker lengthened the lead by scoring a hat trick, ending the period at 5-1. The final goal was scored by Brandon Sloan to win with a final score of 6-1.

Submitted by Sherri Green

Wadena News


You may also like...